Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Type training - Element

Type training must include a theoretical and practical element.
Theoretical element
As a minimum the elements in the Syllabus below that are specific to the aircraft type must be covered. Additional elements introduced due to technological changes shall also be included.
Training levels are those levels defined in paragraph 1 above.
Personnel desirous of obtaining Category / Sub-category “A” licence with type rating shall pass appropriate type examination conducted by DGCA or where applicable shall successfully complete an approved type training. Under the later circumstances the level of training shall be a level lower than the one described below for a B1 Category type course. After the first type course for category C certifying staff, all subsequent courses for extension in the same category need only be to level 1 standard.
General Aircraft(dimensions/weights MTOW etc)
Time limits/maintenance checks
Leveling and weighing
Towing and taxiing
Standard practices-only type particular
Fuel tank Safety
B2 module-safety items/mechanical interface
B1 module-safety items/avionics interface
Practical element
The practical training element must consist of the performance of representative maintenance tasks and their assessment in order to meet the following objectives:
Ensure safe performance of maintenance, inspections and routine work according to the maintenance manual and other relevant instructions and tasks as appropriate for the type of aircraft, for example troubleshooting, repairs, adjustments, replacements, rigging and functional checks such as engine run, etc, if required. Correctly use all technical literature and documentation for the aircraft. Correctly use specialist/special tooling and test equipment, perform removal and replacement of components and modules unique to type, including any on-wing maintenance activity.
Type training examination standard : Question 
Where aircraft type training is required, the examination must be written and comply with the following:
Format of the examination is of the multiple-choice type. Each multiple-choice
question must have more than two alternative answers of which only one must be the correct answer. The time for answering is based upon a nominal average of 120 seconds per level 3 question and 75 seconds per level 1 or 2 question. The examination must be of the closed book type. No reference material is permitted. An exception will be made for the case of examining a B1 or B2 candidate's ability to interpret technical documents.
The number of questions must be at least one question per hour of instruction
subject to a minimum of two questions per Syllabus subject. The competent authority of the DGCA will assess number and level of questions on a sampling basis when approving the course. The examination pass mark is 75%.
Penalty marking is not to be used to determine whether a candidate has passed. End of module phase examinations cannot be used as part of the final examination unless they contain the correct number and level of questions G T

No comments: